Hawkes Bay Halberg

By the Numbers

2018        2017        2016

286              260              330       Contacts made

236              232              255        Responses

126              133              135        Total Players

57                60                63         HB Eagles Players

78                68                 89          Money & Auction Donors

25                26                 38          Prize Donors

$8,435         $8,180        6,920    Monetary Donations

$6,200         $6,500         5,200    Entry Fees

$16,000       $15,000       14,000  Cheque to the Halberg Foundation

35                31                27         Clubs Represented

$3,000         $3,290         3,245    Halberg Raffle Receipts

$120            $106            132        Chipping & Putting Receipts

$1,202         $1,312         $1,907 for both Course Raffles

$330            $216                          Target Hole

$7,000         $7,810         3,300    Prize Table Estimate

$2,700         $1,050         420       Auction Proceeds

Since 1980 this Tournament has raised $360,264 for the Halberg Disability Sport Foundation.  We raised $13,000 in 2015 and $14,000 in 2016, $15,000 in 2017, which was all spent in the Hawke’s Bay Region.

Prize Winners from the 2018 Halberg Sport Disability Foundation golf tournament held at the Napier Golf Club Thursday 13 September.

Bob Grierson Best Team: Gareth Martin (Pongaroa 35), Mike Newport (Carterton 37), Robert Buckley (Hawke’s Bay 43) & Bruce Doran (Waipukurau 35). Total 150.

Approaches: 18+ Hole 7 Richard Wynne-Lewis (Porangahau), 18+ Hole 11 Ian McKenzie (Masterton), 0-17 Hole 4 Ben Sail (Napier), 0-19 Hole 15 Derek Davies (Napier)

Division 1: 1st Derek Davies (Napier 44), 2nd Gilvrey Mohi (Boulcott’s Farm Heritage 41), 3rd David Lawrence (Waipawa 40). Also: Ivan Grieve (Hastings 40), Peter Pinfold (Napier 39), Graeme Campbell (Hastings 39), Danny Mickleson (Taihape 38), Hugh Glendinning (Manawatu 38), Richard Tippett (Napier 38).

Division 2: 1st Robert Buckley (Hawke’s Bay 43), 2nd Bruce Nelson (Waipukurau 40), 3rd Roly Jones (Napier 40). Also: Danny Waerea (Buckley 39), Bryan Burt (Dannevirke 38), Graeme Clinton (Napier 38), Terry Bastion (Karori 37), Ronnie Turner (Norsewood 37), Jim Harold (Pongaroa 37), Mike Alexander (Hawke’s Bay 37).

HawkesBayHalberg prizes
Prize table: Special thanks to Pub Charity & Mitre 10 Waipukurau

2018 Thank You

To everyone who had something to do with the hugely successful Halberg Disability Sport Foundation Tournament a big THANK YOU.

Please accept this note as a sincere gesture. There were over 230 of you involved in the tournament and to contact you all would be a huge and costly task.

Attached with this note is a breakdown of the numbers associated with the tournament.

We appreciate all the sponsors, donors, prize givers, helpers, officials, guests, visitors, Napier GC, raffle & auction buyers, golf clubs and players. Thanks to Pub Charity and Mitre 10 Waipukurau we were able to put up an unbelievable prize table. We raised $16,000, which now means we have raised $360,260 since we started in 1980. This is fantastic.

David Howie, the National President, Jeremy Ballantyne, the National Secretary, Brandon Woolley, the Hawke’s Bay Representative on the Halberg Trust, and Sir Brian Lochore, a Foundation Trustee, all loved being guests of the Hawke’s Bay Eagles Society.

This year we enjoyed the company of three District Presidents, Trevor Morrin from the Bay View Hotel (Pub Charity) and Zac Swanwick our Golfer of the Year recipient.

We showed our appreciation to helpers Jill Taylor and Denise Stratford and Andrew Henare, who was made a Member on the night.
Regards, Jamie MacLeod

HawkesBayHalberg top table
(Left to Right) Carne Berry (standing), Kevin Pike, David Howie, Brian Lochore, David Lawrence

HawkesBayHalberg Cheque
Allen Connor presenting cheque to HB Halberg Advisor Brandon Woolley

HawkesBayHalberg Zac
(L to R) President Allen Connor, Brian Lochore, Zac Swanwick, David Lawrence (Junior Convenor)